top of page

BET's 'Black Girls Rock!' Award Show 2018 Is Airing Tonight

This year, BET Networks tapped Queen Latifah to host its annual Black Girls Rock! awards, which celebrate the achievements and influence of black women and girls. Honorees included Janet Jackson, Mary J. Blige, Naomi Campbell, and Lena Waithe, among others. Tarana Burke, who founded #MeToo movement , was honored with a Community Change Agent Award. The program will honor Aretha Franklin in a tribute and include performances by Yolanda Adams, Tamia, H.E.R., Victory Boyd and Jacqueline Green of the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater.

The awards ceremony was taped last month at the New Jersey Performing Arts Center, but will air tonight (Sunday, September 9) on BET at 8 p.m. ET. 

bottom of page