top of page

Tina Turner and Jay-Z Lead Rock Hall of Fame’s 2021 Inductees

Photo: Brian Ach/Getty Images; Ruth Fremson

Tina Turner and Jay-Z feature among the 2021 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame class, the organization announced Wednesday.

Carole King, The Go-Go's, Foo Fighters and Todd Rundgren round out the elite group of performers selected for induction into the rock pantheon, which in recent years has made efforts to broaden its acceptance of genre and honor more artists who aren't white men.

This year the 1,200 voters responsibile for doling out the top rock awards appear to have taken to heart the perennial criticism that they were falling short.

"This diverse class of talented inductees reflects the Rock Hall's ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture,"

said John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, in a statement. The 2021 class diverse in generation and genre should make for an eventful induction ceremony concert, which was forced to go virtual in its 35th edition that added The Notorious B.I.G. and Whitney Houston to the organization's ranks.

The 36th annual ceremony is planned for October 30 in Cleveland, Ohio, where the Hall of Fame is based.

Jay-Z, Foo Fighters and the Go-Go's are all first-time nominees; artists are eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of their first recording.

Complete List Of 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

Performers Category:

  • Foo Fighters

  • Jay-Z

  • The Go-Go's

  • Carole King

  • Todd Rundgren

  • Tina Turner

Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to non-performing music industry professionals)

  • Clarence Avant

Musical Excellence Award

  • LL Cool J

  • Billy Preston

  • Randy Rhoads

Early Influence Award

  • Kraftwerk

  • Gil Scott-Heron

  • Charley Patton



bottom of page